

## Motion

## Appointment of Members to the NWT Honours Advisory Council

WHEREAS the Order of the Northwest Territories was established in 2013 by the *Territorial Emblems and Honours Act* to recognize individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the Northwest Territories or elsewhere;

AND WHEREAS Section 21(1) of the *Territorial Emblems and Honours Act* provides for the creation of a Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council to review nominations and recommend appointments to the Order of the Northwest Territories;

AND WHEREAS Section 21(2)(b) of the *Territorial Emblems and Honours Act* provides that the council be composed of not more than five members of the public appointed by the Legislative Assembly on the recommendation of the Board of Management;

AND WHEREAS Section 22(2) of the *Territorial Emblems and Honours Act* provides that the members of the panel hold office at pleasure for a term not exceeding three years;

AND WHEREAS the current membership of the Honours Advisory Council expires on June 5, 2018;

AND WHEREAS the Board of Management is tasked with recommending individuals to the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Assembly is prepared to make a recommendation to the Commissioner;

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Yellowknife North, that the following persons be recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for reappointment to the NWT Honours Advisory Council, effective immediately for a term of three years:

Ms. Sabrina Broadhead of Hay River; Mr. Danny Gaudet of Deline; and Ms. Anne Peters of Yellowknife.