

Motion

Appointment of Human Rights Commission Members

WHEREAS Section 16.(2) of the Human Rights Act provides that the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission is composed of such members, between three and five in number, as may be appointed by the Commissioner on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly;

AND WHEREAS on November 2, 2018 there will be two vacancies on the commission:

AND WHEREAS the Board of Management is tasked with recommending individuals to the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Assembly is prepared to make a recommendation to the Commissioner;

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Hay River South, that Mr. Yacub Adam of Yellowknife be recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for reappointment as a member of the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission, effective immediately for a term of four years;

AND FURTHER, that Ms. Gerri Sharpe of Yellowknife be recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for reappointment as a member of the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission, effective immediately for a term of four years.

Moved by: Seconded by: Mr. Blake Mr. Schumann

Ruled Out of Order: