No.

29-18(2)



Motion

Appointment of Two Members to <u>the Human Rights Adjudication Panel</u>

WHEREAS Section 48(1) of the *Human Rights Act* provides for the establishment of an adjudication panel composed of at least three persons, appointed by the Commissioner on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly;

AND WHEREAS Section 48(4) of the *Human Rights Act* provides that the members of the panel hold office, during good behaviour, for a term of four years, with the exception of the first members appointed;

AND WHEREAS there are currently two vacancies on the adjudication panel;

AND WHEREAS the Board of Management is tasked with recommending individuals to the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Assembly is prepared to make a recommendation to the Commissioner;

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes, that Mr. Sheldon Toner of Yellowknife be recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for reappointment as a member of the Human Rights Adjudication Panel, effective immediately for a term of four years;

AND FURTHER, that Ms. Emerald Murphy of Yellowknife be recommended to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for appointment as a member of the Human Rights Adjudication Panel, effective immediately for a term of four years.



Date of Notice: Date of Introduction: Disposition: Carried: February 7, 2017 February 9, 2017 Carried February 9, 2017

Moved by: Seconded by: Mr. Vanthuyne Mr. R. C. McLeod

Ruled Out of Order:

NWT 6624/0202