

P.O. Box 469, Fort Simpson, NT XOE 0N0 Phone: 867-695-3131 Fax: 867-695-2665

TABLED DOCUMENT 256-17(5) TABLED ON JUNE 2, 2015

BCR Number: 2013-05

File: Fracking

BAND COUNCIL RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Liidlii Kue First Nation has convened in a Special Council meeting November 12, 2013; and

WHEREAS, the hydraulic fracturing of extracting natural gas has expanded rapidly in North America and around the world in recent years; and

WHEREAS, hydraulic fracturing – whether in coal beds, shale rock or other geologic deposits – has been linked to pollution of ground and surface water; and

WHEREAS, there are serious concerns about the risks of hydraulic fracturing to human health in areas where this development is occurring; and

WHEREAS, many of the chemicals used in hydraulic fracturing are kept secret by industry, and many of the known chemicals being used are carcinogenic and toxic; and

WHEREAS, many jurisdictions of the world have banned the process of hydraulic fracturing permanently or until more research is done on the impact of the process; and

WHEREAS, there is potential for hydraulic fracturing in Liidlii Kue Traditional Territory and some companies have expressed interest in hydraulic fracturing developments therefore increasing the potential of this activity to occur in the Liidlii Kue Traditional Territory;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Liidlii Kue First Nation will continue to monitor and share knowledge on the impact of hydraulic fracturing;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that water quality in the Liidlii Kue Traditional Territory will be managed using best management practices and adhere to the highest standards;

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, that Liidlii Kue First Nation calls for a moratorium on hydraulic fracturing in Liidlii Kue Traditional Territory until further research is conducted on the impacts to land, water and human health, and until there are proper regulatory requirements and safeguards in place for this type of development to proceed.

Chief Minnie Letcher NOW Councilor Betty Hardisty Councilor Jonathan Tsetso Sub- Chief Steven Jose ļ Councilor Bertha Norwegian Councilor William Michaud Councilor Emma Amundson D Councilor Cynthia Browning Councilor Jim Antoine