LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES 9TH ASSEMBLY, 3RD SESSION

TABLED DOCUMENT NO. 7-80(2) TABLED ON JUNE 14, 1980

Tabled Document No. 7 Tabled June 14, 1980

BILL C-254

An Act to amend the Northwest Territories Act to divide the Northwest Territory into three separate territories - The Nunavut Territory in the east, the MacKenzie-Dene Territory in the west, and

the Arctic Territory in the north.

Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and the House of Commons, enacts as follows:

 The definition "Territories" in section 2 of the Northwest Territories Act is repealed and replaced by the following:

"<u>Sunavut Territory</u>" means all that part of Canada north of the 60th parallel and which lies east of a line drawn north from the Saskatchewan border along the 108th longitude to the 65th parallel and thence north-west in a straight line to the intersection of the 119th longitude and the 68th parallel and thence north along the 119th longitude to the shore of the Amundsen Gulf; including all of Victoria Island east of the 110th longitude; and all the northern islands east of the 110th longitude and south of Lancaster Sound; and including all the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay, and Ungava Bay except those islands that are within the provinces of Manitoba, Ontario or Quebec.

"Dene-MacKenzie Territory" means all that part of Canada north of the 60th parallel west of the Nunavut border and east of the Yukon border including all the islands in the Beaufort Sea south of the McLure Strait; and that side of Victoria Island west of the llOth longitude.

"Arctic Territory" means all those Canadian islands north of McLure Strait and Lancaster Sound.

2. The Northwest Territories Act is further amended by adding the following sections after section 2:

"2A. After the passage of this Act, the governments of the Dene-MacKenzie Territory and the Nunavut Territory may renegotiate the boundary between them and any agreement reached shall have the effect of law when confirmed by the legislatures of the two territories and by the Governor in Council of the federal government. be subject to the Northwest Territories Act except as applied by Order in Council of the federal government.

"2G. In the Nunavut Territory, Inutitut shall be an official language for all matters falling within the jurisdiction of the Nunavut Territory.

"2H. In the Dene-MacKenzie territory the territorial government may decide to have additional official native languages for all matters falling within the territorial jurisdiction and this decision will have the effect of law when confirmed by the Governor in Council of the federal government."

> Warren Allmand, M.P. Montreal - N.D.G.