

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 23

Votes and Proceedings

THIRD SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

March 9, 2018

The Assembly commenced sitting at 10:02 am.

Ministers' Statements

57-18(3)	The Minister Responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation made a statement regarding the mandate commitment update and strategic renewal.
58-18(3)	The Premier made a statement regarding the late arrival of Minister Abernethy to the House.

Members' Statements

201-18(3)	The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement regarding dialysis treatment in the Northwest Territories.
202-18(3)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement recognizing Steven Squirrel.
203-18(3)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding the Union of Northern Workers negotiations.
204-18(3)	The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding the Giant Mine remediation project.
205-18(3)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding procurement policies and issues.

Page 1 of 5

- 206-18(3) The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding housing needs in the Mackenzie Delta.
- 207-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement congratulating the Yellowknife Day Care Association on its new facility.

Tabling of Documents

- 124-18(3) Aurora College Annual Report 2016-2017. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 125-18(3) Tłįcho Community Services Agency Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year Ending June 30, 2018. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 126-18(3) Beaufort Delta District Education Council Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 127-18(3) South Slave Divisional Education Council Operating Plan for 2017-2018 (School Year ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 128-18(3) Sahtu Divisional Education Council Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 129-18(3) Dehcho Divisional Education Council Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year ending June 30, 2018. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 130-18(3) Yellowknife Education District No. 1 Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year Ending June 30, 2018. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- Yellowknife Catholic Schools Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 132-18(3) Ndilo District Education Authority Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.

- 133-18(3) Dettah District Education Authority Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 134-18(3) Commission scolaire francophone, Territoires du Nord-Ouest Operating Plan for 2017-2018 School Year (ending June 30, 2018). Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Committee Report 4-18(3): Standing Committee on Social Development Report on Adult Residential Addictions Treatment Facilities Tour 2017. The Chair reported progress with four motions being adopted.

Committee Motion 30-18(3)

Moved by the Member for Nahendeh.

I MOVE that this Assembly recommends that the Department of Health and Social Services enhance its public communications on addications treatment.

The Member for Nahendeh requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green. (6)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: Minister Moses, Minister Cochrane, Minister Abernethy, Minister R. R. McLeod, Minister R. C. McLeod, Minister Schumann, Minister Sebert. (7)

The motion was CARRIED.

Motion 31-18(3)

Moved by the Member for Nahendeh.

I MOVE that this Assembly recommends that the Department of Health and Social Services enhance community-based aftercare services by encouraging the development of a peer support network, scheduling regular access to counselling and addictions facilities through existing health centre resources, e.g. Telehealth, and engage with southern facilities to train territorial health care providers in the delivery of family support programming.

The Member for Nahendeh requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green. (6)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: Minister Moses, Minister Cochrane, Minister Abernethy, Minister R. R. McLeod, Minister R. C. McLeod, Minister Schumann, Minister Sebert. (7)

The motion was CARRIED.

Motion 32-18(3)

Moved by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.

I MOVE that this Assembly recommends that the Department of Health and Social Services partner with its fellow social envelope departments, community governments, and community organizations to develop a pilot program centered on ensuring that northerners completing residential treatment are not discharged into homelessness, but instead connected with housing opportunities.

The Member for Yellowknife Centre requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green. (6)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: Minister Moses, Minister Cochrane, Minister Abernethy, Minister R. R. McLeod, Minister R. C. McLeod, Minister Schumann, Minister Sebert. (7)

The motion was CARRIED.

Committee Motion 33-18(3)

Moved by the Member for Mackenzie Delta.

I MOVE that this Assembly recommends that the Government provide a comprehensive response to this report within 120 days.

The Member for Mackenzie Delta requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green. (6)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: Minister Moses, Minister Cochrane, Minister Abernethy, Minister R. R. McLeod, Minister R. C. McLeod, Minister Schumann, Minister Sebert. (7)

The motion was CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 12:59 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly