

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 41

Votes and Proceedings

THIRD SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

October 23, 2018

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:31 pm.

Ministers' Statements

- 107-18(3) The Minister responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation made a statement regarding a housing partnership with the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation.
- 108-18(3) The Minister responsible for the Status of Women made a statement regarding Family Violence Awareness Week.

Members' Statements

- 371-18(3) The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding climate change and carbon pricing.
- 372-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding the establishment of Thaídene Nëné.
- 373-18(3) The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding income support workers in Tsiigehtchic.
- 374-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding the apprehension and detention of a sexual assault victim by the RCMP.
- 375-18(3) The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding infrastructure funding priorities.

Page 1 of 3

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

376-18(3)	The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement regarding the impacts of alcohol on Northwest Territories residents.
377-18(3)	The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding land availability for community development.
378-18(3)	The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding the Arctic Policy Framework.
379-18(3)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the passing of William Bertrand.
380-18(3)	The Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes made a statement regarding a birthday celebration in Tuktoyaktuk for Persis Gruben.
Tabling of Documents	
255-18(3)	Supplementary Estimates (Infrastructure Expenditures), No. 3, 2018-2019. Tabled by the Minister of Finance.
256-18(3)	Supplementary Estimates (Operations Expenditures), No. 3, 2018-2019. Tabled by the Minister of Finance.
257-18(3)	Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 281-18(3): Northwest Territories Youth Advisory Council. Tabled by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.
258-18(3)	Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 322-18(3): Tuktoyaktuk Shoreline Relocation Project. Tabled by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.
259-18(3)	Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 330-18(3). Establishment of the Fort Providence Fire Department. Tabled by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.
260-18(3)	Northwest Territories Environmental Studies Research Fund - Annual Report and Budget 2017-2018. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.
261-18(3)	NWT Oil and Gas Annual Report 2017. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.
262-18(3)	Thaídene Nëné: Critical Path to Establishment – Presentation to the Standing Committee of Economic Development and Environment. Tabled by the Member for Frame Lake.

- 263-18(3) Summary of Members' Absences for the period May 24, 2018 to October 10, 2018. Tabled by the Speaker.
- 264-18(3) Report of the Auditor General of Canada to the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly – 2018: Independent Auditor's Report – Child and Family Services – Department of Health and Social Services and Health and Social Services Authorities. Tabled by the Speaker.

Notices of Motion for First Reading of Bills

Bill 24: An Act to Amend the Elections and Plebiscites Act. Notice given by Member for Frame Lake.

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Bill 7: *Chartered Professional Accountants Act* and Minister's Statement 103-18(3): Marine Transportation Services and reported progress with one motion carried and that Bill 7: *Chartered Professional Accountants Act* is ready for Third Reading as amended.

Third Reading of Bills

Bill 8

Emergency Management Act

The Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. Blake, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (16)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion is CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 5:24 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer Clerk of the Legislative Assembly