Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 46

Votes and Proceedings

THIRD SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

October 30, 2018

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:31 pm.

Ministers' Statements

121-18(3)	The Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment made a statement about unlocking our potential.
122-18(3)	The Minister of Health and Social Services made a statement regarding cultural safety and relationship-based care.
123-18(3)	The Minister of Environment and Natural Resources made a statement regarding environmental monitoring and research projects.
124-18(3)	The Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs made a statement regarding the 2018 Northwest Territories Sport Hall of Fame inductions.

Members' Statements

416-18(3)	The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding implementation of the Gwich'in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement and the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.
417-18(3)	The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding broadband connectivity.
418-18(3)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding unlicensed tourism operators.

Page 1 of 5

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél.: 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur: 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

419-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding carbon-free energy for resource development. 420-18(3) The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the emergency response to an accident at the Nahanni Butte airport. 421-18(3) The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding socioeconomic agreements and benefits. 422-18(3) The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding energy efficiency initiatives in the Sahtu region. 423-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding poverty in the Northwest Territories. 424-18(3) The Member for Tu Nedhé-Willideh made a statement regarding early childhood development.

Acknowledgements

16-18(3) The Member for Nahendeh acknowledged Fort Liard residents Armand Bertrand, 85, and Frank Lomen, 90.

Reports of Standing and Special Committees

- 9-18(3) Standing Committee on Government Operations Report on the review of Bill 18: An Act to Amend the Cities, Towns and Villages Act
- 10-18(3) Standing Committee on Government Operations Report on the Review of Bill 20: *Ombudsperson Act*

Tabling of Documents

- 276-18(3) NWT Poverty Update. Tabled by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.
- 277-18(3) Terms of Reference Special Committee on Transition Matters. Tabled by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.
- 278-18(3) Terms of Reference Special Committee to Increase the Representation of Women in the Legislative Assembly. Tabled by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.
- 279-18(3) Updates to NWT Petroleum Legislation: What We Heard. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.

280-18(3) Northwest Territories Business Development and Investment Corporation 2017-2018 Annual Report. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.

Notices of Motion

25-18(3) Appointment of Chair to the Northwest Territories Honours Advisory Council.

Notice given by the Member for Mackenzie Delta.

26-18(3) Appointment to the Special Committee on Transition Matters.

Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife North.

27-18(3) Appointment to the Human Rights Adjudication Panel.

Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife North.

28-18(3) Establishment of a Special Committee to Increase the

Representation of Women in the Legislative Assembly.

Notice given by the Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes.

29-18(3) Appointment of Human Rights Commission Members.

Notice given by the Member for Mackenzie Delta.

30-18(3) Extended Adjournment of the House to February 5, 2019.

Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.

First Reading of Bills

Bill 30:

An Act to Amend the Human Rights Act

Introduced by Minister of Justice.

Bill 33:

Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2019-2020

Introduced by Minister of Finance.

Second Reading of Bills

Bill 29:

An Act to Amend the Access to Information and Protection of

Privacy Act

Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2019-2020

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Committee Report 9-18(3): Standing Committee on Government Operations Report on the Review of Bill 18: An Act to Amend the Cities, Towns and Villages Act, and Bill 18: An Act to Amend the Cities, Towns and Villages Act, and report progress, that consideration of Committee Report 9-18(3) is concluded and that Bill 18: An Act to Amend the Cities, Towns and Villages Act, is ready for third reading.

Committee Motion 83-18(3)

Bill 33:

The Member for Nahendeh moved the following motion:

I MOVE that clause 2 of Bill 18 be amended by deleting proposal subclause 70.1(5) and substitute the following:

(5) tourism accommodations tax must not be imposed under this section if the subject of the tax is a resident of the Northwest Territories.

The Member for Nahendeh requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. McNeely, Mr. Thompson. (2)

Members against: Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (13)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was DEFEATED.

Third Reading of Bills

Bill 33: Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2019-2020

The Member for Frame Lake requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable

R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (16)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: (0)

The Speaker adjourned the House at 6:08 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly