

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 75

Votes and Proceedings

THIRD SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

May 28, 2019

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:30 pm.

Ministers' Statements

185-18(3)	The Minister of Environment and Natural Resources made a statement regarding the 2019 wildfire season outlook.
186-18(3)	The Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment made a statement about celebrating Tourism Week.
187-18(3)	The Minister of Education, Culture and Employment made a statement regarding Income Security program improvements.
188-18(3)	The Minister responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation made a statement regarding the Northern Housing Summit.
nhara' Statemanta	

Members' Statements

- 681-18(3) The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding the Marine Training Centre.
- 682-18(3) The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding personal wellness in communities.
- 683-18(3) The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the Pay It Forward program in Fort Simpson.

Page 1 of 4

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

684-18(3) The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding boreal caribou in the Sahtu. The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding the 685-18(3) Producers Incentive Program. 686-18(3) The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding good neighbour agreements. 687-18(3) The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding the Giant Mine long-term funding study. 688-18(3) The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding the 2019 Youth Parliament. 689-18(3) The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement regarding the Affirmative Action policy. The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding mental 690-18(3) health services in regions. The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding 691-18(3) dredging the Hay River.

Reports of Standing and Special Committees

16-18(3) Standing Committee on Government Operations Report on the Review of Bill 29: An Act to Amend the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act

Tabling of Documents

- 432-18(3) 2018 Socio-Economic Agreement Report. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.
- 433-18(3) 2019-20 Health and Social Services Authority Budgets. Tabled by the Minister of Health and Social Services.
- 434-18(3) Impacts of the NWT On the Land Collaborative & Land-Based Programming. Tabled by the Minister of Health and Social Services.
- 435-18(3) Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 605-18(3): Junior Kindergarten Program. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.

- 436-18(3) Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 620-18(3): Indigenous Languages in Junior Kindergarten. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.
- 437-18(3) Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 696-18(3): Online Safety for Children. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.

Notices of Motion

38-18(3) Extended Adjournment of the House to June 4, 2019.

Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.

Notices of Motion for First Reading of Bills

Bill 54: Standard Interest Rate Statutes Amendment Act

Notice given by Minister of Finance.

Bill 55: An Act to Amend the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act, No 1

Notice given by Member for Mackenzie Delta.

Bill 56: An Act to Amend the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act, No 2

Notice given by Member for Yellowknife North.

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Minister's Statement 158-18(3): Developments in Early Childhood Programs and Services and reported progress.

Third Reading of Bills

Bill 26: Statistics Act

The Minister of Finance requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Ms. Green, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod,

Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (15)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 6:06 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer / Clerk of the Legislative Assembly