

Votes and Proceedings Procès-verbal

No. 1

Votes and Proceedings

FIRST SESSION OF THE NINETEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

October 25, 2019

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:30 pm.

Members' Statements

1-19(1) The Member for Monfwi made a statement offering 19th Legislative Assembly acknowledgements.

Tabling of Documents

1-19(1) Priorities of the 19th Legislative Assembly. Tabled by the Member for Yellowknife North.

Notices of Motion

1-19(1)	Election of Speaker
	Notice given by the Member for Monfwi.
2-19(1)	Appointment of Premier
	Notice given by the Member for Monfwi.
3-19(1)	Recommendation for Appointment of Members of the Executive Council
	Notice given by the Member for Deh Cho
4-19(1)	Appointments to the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning
	Notice given by the Member for Nahendeh.

5-19(1) Appointments to the Board of Management

Notice given by the Member for Frame Lake.

6-19(1) Extended Adjournment of the House to December 10, 2019

Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife North.

Motions

1-19(1) Election of Speaker

Moved by the Member for Monfwi.

I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Range Lake, that the Honourable Frederick Blake Jr. of the electoral district of Mackenzie Delta do take the Chair of this House as Speaker.

The motion was CARRIED.

2-19(1) Appointment of Premier

Moved by the Member for Monfwi.

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Hay River North, that the Member for Range Lake, the Honourable Caroline Cochrane, is hereby chosen to be Premier of the Northwest Territories.

The motion was CARRIED.

3-19(1) Recommendation for Appointment of Members of the Executive Council

Moved by the Member for Deh Cho.

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Nunakput, that this Assembly recommends to the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories that the following Members be appointed to the Executive Council:

Ms. Katrina Nokleby, the Member for Great Slave;

Mr. R. J. Simpson, the Member for Hay River North;

Mrs. Diane Thom, the Member for Inuvik Boot Lake;

Mr. Shane Thompson, the Member for Nahendeh;

Ms. Paulie Chinna, the Member for Sahtu;

Ms. Caroline Cochrane, the Member for Range Lake; and

Ms. Caroline Wawzonek, the Member for Yellowknife South.

The motion was CARRIED.

4-19(1) Appointments to the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning

Moved by the Member for Nahendeh.

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Great Slave, that the following Members be appointed to the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning:

Mr. Ronald Bonnetrouge, the Member for Deh Cho;

Mr. Kevin O'Reilly, the Member for Frame Lake;

Mr. Rocky Simpson, the Member for Hay River South;

Mrs. Lesa Semmler, the Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes;

Ms. Caitlin Cleveland, the Member for Kam Lake,

Mr. Jackson Lafferty, the Member for Monfwi;

Mr. Jackie Jacobson, the Member for Nunakput;

Mrs. Frieda Martselos, the Member for Thebacha;

Mr. Steve Norn, the Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh;

Ms. Julie Green, the Member for Yellowknife Centre; and

Mr. Rylund Johnson, the Member for Yellowknife North.

The motion was CARRIED.

5-19(1) Appointments to the Board of Management

Moved by the Member for Frame Lake.

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes, that the following Members be appointed to the Board of Management of this Assembly:

The Honourable Frederick Blake Jr., Member for Mackenzie Delta;

Mr. Jackie Jacobson, Member for Nunakput;

Ms. Caitlin Cleveland, Member for Kam Lake;

the Honourable Diane Thom, Member for Inuvik Boot Lake, and

the Honourable Paulie Chinna, Member for Sahtu;

AND FURTHER, that the following Members be appointed to the Board of Management as alternate Members:

Mr. Steve Norn, Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh;

Mr. Ronald Bonnetrouge, Member for Deh Cho;

the Honourable Katrina Nokleby, Member for Great Slave; and

the Honourable R. J. Simpson, Member for Hay River North.

The motion was CARRIED.

6-19(1)

Extended Adjournment of the House to December 10, 2019

Moved by the Member for Yellowknife North.

I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Range Lake that, notwithstanding Rule 4, when this House adjourns on October 25, 2019, it shall be adjourned until Tuesday, December 10, 2019;

AND FURTHER, that any time prior to December 10, 2019, if the Speaker is satisfied, after consultation with the Executive Council and Members of the Legislative Assembly, that the public interest requires that the House should meet at an earlier time during the adjournment, the Speaker may give notice and thereupon the House shall meet at the time stated in such notice and shall transact its business as it has been duly adjourned to that time.

The motion was CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 2:41 pm.

Hon. Frederick Blake Jr.

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly