

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 4 (revised 17-11-07)

Votes and Proceedings

SECOND SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

February 23, 2016

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:31 pm.

Ministers' Statements

5-18(2) The Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment made a statement extending a salute to award winners in the Northwest Territories mining industry.

Members' Statements

- 35-18(2) The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding a University of Waterloo traditional food study.
- 36-18(2) The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding the impacts of residential schools.
- 37-18(2) The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding youth empowerment, education and employment.
- 38-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding transportation priorities.
- 39-18(2) The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding innovative apprenticeship programs.
- 40-18(2) The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding the Bear River Bridge.

Page 1 of 4

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

41-18(2)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding the Department of Lands Liabilities and financial Assurances Division.
42-18(2)	The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding training related to technological advances in the Mackenzie Delta.
43-18(2)	The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement on diversifying the economy.
44-18(2)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding impacts of a proposed wage freeze.
45-18(2)	The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement about increasing employment opportunities in small communities

Acknowledgements

4-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife South acknowledged the retirement of Peter Vician.

Tabled Documents

10-18(2) Annual Report of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner of the Northwest Territories for 2015. Tabled by the Speaker.

Notices of Motion

- 10-18(2) Referral of Standing Committee Public Engagement Processes and Procedures to the Standing Committee on Rules and Procedures. Notice given by the Member for Frame Lake.
- 11-18(2) Appointment of Member to the Human Rights Adjudication Panel. Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife North.

12-18(2) Extended Adjournment of the House to February 29, 2016. Notice given by the Member for Yellowknife Centre.

Notices of Motion for First Reading of Bills

Bill 1-18(2): An Act to Amend the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act

Notice given by the Member for Mackenzie Delta.

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Tabled Document 1-18(2). The Chair reported progress with eight motions being adopted.

Recorded Votes on Committee of the Whole Motions

Committee Motion 5-18(2)

The Member for Nahendeh moved the following Committee Motion:

I MOVE that Tabled Document 1-18(2), Proposed Mandate of Government of Northwest Territories 2016-2019, be amended on page 12 by deleting the words "We will provide high quality public tourism facilities by developing a plan to invest in the modernization of our parks infrastructure and signage, as well as extending our tourism opportunities by building new parks such as Doi'Toh Territorial Park in the Sahtu region" and insert the words "We will provide high quality public tourism facilities by modernizing our parks infrastructure and signage, erecting emergency shelters along remote highways, and expand tourism options by building new parks such as Doi'Toh Territorial Park in the Sahtu region."

The Member for Yellowknife South moved the following amendment to Committee Motion 5-18(2):

I MOVE that Committee Motion 5-18(2) be amended by deleting the words "erecting emergency shelters along remote highways".

The Member for Yellowknife South requested a recorded vote on the amendment to Motion 5-18(2). The results of the recorded vote were as follows:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (10)

Members against: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (7)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was DEFEATED.

The Member for Nahendeh requested a recorded vote on Committee Motion 5-18(2). The results of the recorded vote were as follows:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (10)

Members against: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (7)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 4:45 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer Clerk of the Legislative Assembly