

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 5 (revised 17-11-08)

Votes and Proceedings

SECOND SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

February 24, 2016

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:30 pm.

Ministers' Statements

6-18(2)	The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations made a statement regarding finalizing aboriginal rights agreements in the NWT.
7-18(2)	The Minister of Health and Social Services made a statement regarding the Early Childhood Intervention Pilot Project.
8-18(2)	The Minister of Education, Culture and Employment made a statement regarding Education Week 2016.
9-18(2)	The Premier made a statement regarding Minister Cochrane's absence from the House.

Members' Statements

46-18(2)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding International Pink Shirt Day.
47-18(2)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the impacts of bullying.
48-18(2)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement about addressing workplace bullying.

Page 1 of 5

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

49-18(2) The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding forest fire protection plans in the Deh Cho. 50-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding support for anti-bullying initiatives. 51-18(2) The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding bullying in the residential school environment. The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement about 52-18(2) offering senior secondary school education in Tsiigehtchic. 53-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife Centre offered a tribute to Order of the Northwest Territories recipient Ruth Spence. The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding the 54-18(2) Northwest Territories fur industry. 55-18(2) The Member for Tu Nedhé-Willideh made a statement aboriginal regarding inmates in Northwest Territories corrections facilities. The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding 56-18(2) infrastructure requirements for the southern Mackenzie Highway.

Tabled Documents

- 11-18(2) Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission of Northwest Territories and Nunavut 2015-2017 Strategic Plan. Tabled by the Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission.
- 12-18(2) Aurora College Annual Report 2014-2015. Tabled by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment.

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Tabled Document 1-18(2). The Chair reported progress with 17 motions being adopted, and that consideration of Tabled Document 1-18(2), as amended, was concluded.

Recorded Votes on Committee of the Whole Motions

Committee Motion 11-18(2)

The Member for Kam Lake requested a recorded vote on Committee Motion 11-18(2):

I MOVE that Tabled Document 1-18(2), Proposed Mandate of the Government of the Northwest Territories, 2016-2019, be amended on page 13 by inserting the words "We will review and develop amendments to the Northwest Territories Heritage Fund Act in light of devolution to ensure a defined revenue stream and stronger public governance."

The results of the recorded vote were as follows:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (9)

Members against: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (6)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was CARRIED.

Committee Motion 13-18(2)

The Member for Frame Lake moved the following motion:

I MOVE that Tabled Document 1-18(2), the Proposed Mandate of The Government of the Northwest Territories, 2016-2019, be amended on page 21 by deleting the words "We will provide incentives for residents to invest in energy efficient products, help businesses, condominiums and co-operatives make investments in energy conservation and energy efficiency, support residents and communities so they can make investments into renewable energies such as solar, and improve the energy efficiency of public housing," and inserting the words "We will expand and improve access to incentives for residents to invest in energy-efficient products; help businesses, condominiums and co-operatives invest in energy conservation and efficiency; support residential and community investment in renewable energy such as solar; and improve the efficiency of public housing."

The Member for Thebacha moved the following amendment to Committee Motion 13-18(2):

I MOVE that Committee Motion 13-18(2) be amended by deleting the words "expand and."

The Member for Frame Lake requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were as follows:

Members for: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (6)

Members against: Mr. Blake, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (9)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was DEFEATED.

The Member for Frame Lake requested a recorded vote on Committee Motion 13-18(2). The results were as follows:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (9)

Members against: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (6)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was CARRIED.

Committee Motion 23-18(2)

The Member for Deh Cho requested a recorded vote on Committee Motion 23-18(2):

I MOVE that Tabled Document 1-18(2), Proposed Mandate of the Government of the Northwest Territories, 2016-2019 be amended on page 32 by inserting the following words under the quote "Increasing Transparency and Accountability in Strength in the Consensus Government" section "We will develop legislation within two years to establish an independent parliamentary office of the ombudsman."

The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Testart, Mr. Nakimayak, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Vanthuyne. (10)

Members against: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (6)

Members abstaining: (0)

The motion was CARRIED.

The Speaker adjourned the House at 5:57 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly