

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

> No. 41 (rev. 17-03-15)

# **Votes and Proceedings**

SECOND SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

November 2, 2016

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:32 pm.

Ministers' Statements

- 103-18(2) The Minister of Transportation made a statement regarding climate change and transportation infrastructure.
- 104-18(2) The Minister of Environment and Natural Resources made a statement regarding caribou education in November.
- 105-18(2) The Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment made a statement regarding tourism investments showing strong returns

Members' Statements

- 383-18(2) The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement regarding home care services.
- 384-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding public engagement and transparency.
- 385-18(2) The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding a northern polytechnic proposal.

Page 1 of 5

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

Łitr'iljil NWT Eenjit • Begha zelek'étezedéhbeke • Góhdli Ndéh ts'é K'aodhe Łénagedéh Gok'éh • Ek'e-tehtso Doµ¬ Weniµht...' e¬koµ¬ • Itasiwe'win Mâmâwi'payiwin • Beba zelegëth Dëne Déltth'i • Maligaliuqtit • Malirutiliuqtiqpait Katimaviat • L⊂U⊂D<sup>5</sup>∩<sup>b</sup>d<sup>C</sup>

386-18(2)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the medical travel policy and non-medical escorts.
387-18(2)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding empowering local governments.
388-18(2)	The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding community response to sexual violence against women and girls.
389-18(2)	The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding a proposed wood pellet mill in the Deh Cho.
390-18(2)	The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding the senior home heating subsidy.
391-18(2)	The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding the 'Drop the Pop' campaign.
392-18(2)	The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding the "A New Day" Men's Healing Program.
393-18(2)	The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding

393-18(2) The Member for Hay River North made a statement regarding remediation of contaminated sites on Northern Transportation Company Limited lands.

## **Acknowledgements**

14-18(2) The Member for Sahtu acknowledged 2017 Indspire Award recipient Cece Hodgson-McCauley.

## Tabled Documents

216-18(2)	Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board 2015-2016 Annual Report. Tabled by Minister of Lands.
217-18(2)	Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board 2016-2017 Budget. Tabled by Minister of Lands.
218-18(2)	Tourism 2020: Opening Our Spectacular Home to the World. Tabled by Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.
219-18(2)	Hush Hush No More - Sexual Assault in the NWT. Tabled by Member for Yellowknife Centre.

- 220-18(2) 100% Renewable Energy in the NWT by 2050 Starting the Conversation. Tabled by Member for Frame Lake.
- 221-18(2) 2015-2016 Annual Report of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. Tabled by Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Notices of Motion

- 28-18(2) Extended Adjournment of the House to January 31, 2017. Moved by Member for Yellowknife Centre.
- <u>Motions</u>

27-18(2) "A New Day" Men's Healing Program

Moved by Member for Deh Cho.

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the honourable Member for Yellowknife Centre, that the Legislative Assembly strongly recommends that the Department of Justice take immediate action to extend the service contract and funding for delivery of the "A New Day" Men's Healing Program by one year to December 31, 2017, thereby granting sufficient time for the completion of a program evaluation as well as any subsequent required program transitions;

AND FURTHER, the Legislative Assembly strongly recommends that the Department of Justice inform the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning of its plan to implement the recommendations of this motion before the end of the 2016 calendar year;

AND FURTHERMORE, that the Government of the Northwest Territories provide a comprehensive response to this motion within 120 days.

The Member for Deh Cho requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak. (11)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (7)

### The motion was CARRIED.

First Reading of Bills

13-18(2)	Marriage Act.	Introduced by	Minister	of	Health	and	Social
	Services.						

14-18(2) Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2017-2018. Introduced by Minister of Finance.

#### Second Reading of Bills

14-18(2) Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2017-2018

#### Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Tabled Document 143-18(2), Capital Estimates, 2017-2018, and Tabled Document 163-18(2), Capital Estimates 2017-2018, for the Department of Public Works and Services and the Department of Transportation and reported consideration of Tabled Document 143-18(2), as amended, and Tabled Document 163-18(2) concluded, that the House concurred in those combined estimates as amended and that an appropriation bill based thereon be introduced without delay.

#### Third Reading of Bills

#### 14-18(2)

### Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2017-2018

The Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Beaulieu, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (18)

Members against: (0)

#### Members abstaining: (0)

The Speaker adjourned the House at 4:52 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer Clerk of the Legislative Assembly