

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 72

Votes and Proceedings

SECOND SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

May 30, 2017

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:32 pm.

Ministers' Statements

182-18(2)	The Minister of Health and Social Services made a statement regarding strategic patient-oriented research support unit funding for Hotii ts'eeda Ele`ts'ehde`e.
183-18(2)	The Minister of Environment and Natural Resources made a statement regarding arsenic monitoring in the Yellowknife area.
184-18(2)	The Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment made a statement regarding an approach to economic development.

Members' Statements

685-18(2)	The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding open and transparent government.
686-18(2)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding National Tourism Week 2017.
687-18(2)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the Nutrition North Program.
688-18(2)	The Member for Hay River North made a statement recognizing Russell and Mary King.

Page 1 of 4

689-18(2)	The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding education system indicators.
690-18(2)	The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding national poverty consultation.
691-18(2)	The Member for Mackenzie Delta made a statement regarding the Race the Peel Canoeing Challenge.
692-18(2)	The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding concerns of K'atlodeeche high school students.
693-18(2)	The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding support for the Northwest Territories Association of Communities.
694-18(2)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding Canadian Zinc road environmental assessment and liabilities.

Reports of Standing and Special Committees

10-18(2)	Standing Committee on Social Development Report on the Review
	of Bill 16: An Act to Amend the Education Act

11-18(2) Standing Committee on Rules and Procedures Report on the Review of Standing Committee Public Engagement and Transparency

Acknowledgements

21-18(2) The Member for Deh Cho acknowledged Order of the NWT recipient Jeffery Philipp.

Tabled Documents

378-18(2)	2016 Annual Report Office of the Fire Marshal. Tabled by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.
379-18(2)	25 th Anniversary NWT Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipients 1991-2016. Tabled by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.
380-18(2)	NWT Mineral Development Strategy Annual Report for 2015-2016. Tabled by the Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment.

381-18(2) 2017-18 Corporate Plan NWT Business Development and

Investment Corporation. Tabled by the Minister of Industry,

Tourism and Investment.

382-18(2) Environment and Climate Change Canada Technical Paper on the

Federal Carbon Pricing Backstop. Tabled by the Member for

Frame Lake.

Notices of Motion for First Reading of Bills

Bill 28: Interpretation Act

Notice given by Minister of Justice.

Bill 29: Miscellaneous Statute Law Amendment Act, 2017

Notice given by Minister of Justice.

Bill 30: Health Statutes Law Amendment Act (Cremation Services)

Notice given by Member for Frame Lake.

First Reading of Bills

Bill 27: An Act to Amend the Environmental Protection Act. Introduced by

Minister of Environment and Natural Resources.

Second Reading of Bills

Bill 24: An Act to Amend the Coroner's Act

Bill 25: An Act to Amend the Residential Tenancies Act

Bill 26: An Act to Amend the Revolving Funds Act, No. 2

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Bill 18: An Act to Amend the Health and Social Services Professions Act and reported Bill 18 ready for third reading as amended and reprinted.

Third Reading of Bills

Bill 17: An Act to Amend the Income Tax Act

The Member for Kam Lake requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. R. McLeod, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (16)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: (0)

The Speaker adjourned the House at 4:46 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly