

Legislative Assembly Assemblée législative

No. 84

## **Votes and Proceedings**

SECOND SESSION OF THE EIGHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

October 3, 2017

The Assembly commenced sitting at 1:30 pm.

## Ministers' Statements

- 218-18(2) The Deputy Premier made a statement regarding Orange Shirt Day.
- 219-18(2) The Minister of Lands made a statement regarding the Recreational Leasing Management Framework and celebrating our successes.
- 220-18(2) The Minister Responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation made a statement regarding progress on housing mandate commitments.
- 221-18(2) The Minister of Infrastructure made a statement regarding marine transportation services.
- 222-18(2) The Deputy Premier made a statement regarding the absence of Premier R. R. McLeod from the House.

## Members' Statements

- 801-18(2) The Member for Nunakput made a statement regarding the impact of proposed Transport Canada air safety regulations.
- 802-18(2) The Member for Yellowknife North made a statement regarding racism, violence and the need for principled leadership.

Page 1 of 3

P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2L9 • Tel: 867-767-9130 • Fax: 867-920-4735 C. P. 1320, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest X1A 2L9 • Tél. : 867-767-9130 • Télécopieur : 867-920-4735 www.assembly.gov.nt.ca

	803-18(2)	The Member for Kam Lake made a statement regarding Orange Shirt Day.
	804-18(2)	The Member for Yellowknife Centre made a statement regarding the Elders' Circle Adult Day Program.
	805-18(2)	The Member for Frame Lake made a statement regarding the Resource and Energy Development Information (REDI) Initiative.
	806-18(2)	The Member for Tu Nedhé-Wiilideh made a statement regarding strategic spending on seniors' services.
	807-18(2)	The Member for Nahendeh made a statement regarding the Nahanni Butte wildfire evacuation.
	808-18(2)	The Member for Deh Cho made a statement regarding elder abuse.
	809-18(2)	The Member for Sahtu made a statement regarding residential school and orange shirts.
<u>Ac</u>	knowledgement	<u>S</u>
: .	29-18(2)	The Member for Hay River North acknowledged the 94 <sup>th</sup> birthday of Christine Simpson.

## Tabling of Documents

462-18(2)	Seniors' Information Handbook, September 2017.	Tabled by the
	Minister of Health and Social Services.	· .

463-18(2) Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 852-18(2): Management of Northern Water Resources. Tabled by the Minister of Environment and Natural Resources.

464-18(2) Follow-up Letter for Oral Questions 864-18(2): Species at Risk Protection of Caribou. Tabled by the Minister of Environment and Natural Resources.

465-18(2) 2016-2017 Annual Report of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories. Tabled by the Speaker.

466-18(2) 2016-2017 Annual Report of the Northwest Territories Human Rights Commission. Tabled by the Speaker.

467-18(2) Summary of Members' Absences for the Period May 25, 2017 to September 18, 2017. Tabled by the Speaker.

First Reading of Bills

33-18(2) Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2018-2019. Introduced by Minister of Finance.

Second Reading of Bills

33-18(2) Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2018-2019

Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters

The Committee of the Whole considered Bill 27, *An Act to Amend the Environmental Protection Act.* The Chair reported progress, with two motions being adopted and that Bill 27 was ready for third reading.

Third Reading of Bills

33-18(2) Appropriation Act (Infrastructure Expenditures), 2018-2019

The Member for Kam Lake requested a recorded vote. The results of the recorded vote were:

Members for: Mr. Simpson, Mr. Blake, Mr. McNeely, Mr. Vanthuyne, Mr. Testart, Mr. Thompson, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Green, Mr. Nadli, Mr. Nakimayak, Honourable A. Moses, Honourable C. Cochrane, Honourable G. Abernethy, Honourable R. C. McLeod, Honourable W. Schumann, Honourable L. Sebert. (16)

Members against: (0)

Members abstaining: (0)

The Speaker adjourned the House at 4:29 pm.

Hon. Jackson Lafferty Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Tim Mercer Clerk of the Legislative Assembly