Dennis Patterson
Minister
Department of Education
Government of the N.W.T.
Yellowknife, N.W.T.
X1A 2L9

March 22, 1988

TABLED DOCUMENT NO. /0 7-88(1)

MAR 2 4 1988



Dear Sir:

The IREC meeting duly assembled here in Inuvik considered the following motion.

Whereas the Education Authorities of the Inuvik Region have been entrusted through elections to represent the educational concerns of our eleven communities,

and whereas quality education is the cornerstone for the economic, social, and political future of the N.W.T.,

and whereas literacy levels throughout the N.W.T. have been confirmed as the lowest in Canada,

and whereas demands currently being placed on our teachers and principals are already excessive,

and whereas any further reductions would cause serious harm to our children.

and whereas Territorial Equalization of the teacher/student ratio has been implemented and put into effect in regions over the past year and has not been in practise long enough for proper evaluation,

Therefore be it resolved that existing staffing levels be maintained pending a review by an outside body of the quality of education provided in the communities throughout the N.W.T.,

and furthermore be it resolved that the N.W.T. Legislative Assembly re-examine their priorities in order to maintain funding for high quality education.

MOVED BY: Sheila Nasogaluak

SECONDED BY: Eddie Wright

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

-2-

As the minister of Education cannot attend our meeting then a response would be greatly appreciated by the adjournment of our meeting on Thursday March 24, 1988.

For the Future of Our Children We Remain,

Eddie Dillon Chairman IREC

Grace Blake 1st Vice Chairperson IREC

Lucy Jackson 2nd Vice Chairperson IREC

Bessie Hagen Delegate Tuktoyaktuk LEA

Elizabeth Kunnizzi Delegate Aklavik LEA

John Kendo Delegate Arctic Red River LEA

Michael Neyelle Delegate Fort Franklin LEA

Florence Barnaby Dclegate Fort Good Hope LEA

Eddie Wright Delegate Fort McPherson LEA

Sr. Celeste Goulet Delegate Fort Norman LEA

Jeff Gardiner
Delegate
Inuvik Education Society

Terry Buist Delegate Norman Wells LEA

Pat Ruben Delegate Paulatuk LEA

Sheila Nasogaluak Delegate Sachs Harbour LEA JAB J

Airle Paregaluak

C.C. Steve Kakfwi, MLA Sahtu Richard Nerysoo, MLA MacKenzie Delta Nellie Cournoyea, MLA Nunakput Tom Butters, MLA Inuvik