



HOLMAN COMMUNITY CORPORATION

October 5, 1998

Honourable Sam Gargan Speaker of the House Legislative Assembly Government of the NWT Yellowknife, N.T. X1A 2P7

Honourable Speaker

As you are aware, the Hamlet of Holman is in a unique position with the coming division of the Territories. The traditional government relationships will be changing and this has raised many concerns. One of these concerns relates to the elected representation for the community.

Traditionally, we have been represented by the MLA for Nunakput but we have administratively belonged to the Kitikmeot Region. The relationship between the community and the regional government has been very positive and the region's six communities have worked to support each other in their initiatives. As a result, the community did not require strong support from their MLA in order to deal with their concerns. With Division, however, it will be necessary for the community to work in a region with thirteen communities, and the matter of MLA support is more likely to be an issue.

Our community did not have an opportunity to address the Electoral Boundaries Commission during its meeting in Tuktoyaktuk. With the letter, the Hamlet Council, the Holman Community Corporation, and the voters in Holman, would like to ask that the electoral boundary in the Beaufort region be reconsidered. In order to allow for fair representation for the smaller communities, we would like to see the communities of Holman, Sachs Harbour, and Paulatuk have their own representation in the Legislative Assembly. Tuktoyaktuk, by virtue of its larger population, would have elected representation of its own.

We ask that the Government of the Northwest Territories give this matter due consideration and support the initiatives of the smaller communities in the Beaufort Region.

Sincerely,

Hory Buston

Gary Bristow Hamlet of Holman

and

Councillors
Hamlet of Holman

Directors

Holman Community Corporation

Holman Community Corporation

Ola Vata

1

Mudlak

		1

	We, the undersigned voters of Holman, support the attached letter to secure and MLA in the western territory to represent the communities of Sachs Harbour, Paulatuk and Holman separate from the representation for the community of Tuktoyaktuk.					
P. C.	Eleanor House	Agresfiles but	fine Futur, Me			
	Lanch Kupland	Suban Aleakuk	Darres Oxilak			
	May Bont Sund	Mand Knochad	Try aline			
70	Judgmet from	Jack Sollwold	Johna			
	John athiatal	MARY AKOAKHION	Jelike			
	Joseph titekadlik	Syrnon Kanayok	Ed. Kusta			
	CTUBEL NIGHTY	Dancy Loose	The state of the s			
	Skatue ge	ANNY AKOAKHION	Chilia Ekpakohak			
	Cileen A.	0000	Willy AKOAKHION			
	Alengenberg.	Bhudlak	Mallie Olikbak			

` *