Members of the Legislative Assembly Government of the Northwest Territories P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, N.W.T. X1A 2L9



27 March 1996

Dear Members,

WCB is a no-fault insurance program funded by employers in which the money is held in trust for injured workers and families.

As the principal stakeholders of the Northwest Territories Workers Compensation Board the undersigned are on record as being totally opposed to the process of the proposed transfer of the GNWT Department of Occupational Health and Safety to the Workers Compensation Board and demand that it be stopped immediately. A thorough public review, seeking input from the stakeholders, combined with an indepth actuarial review are essential to the implementation of such a significant change in the WCB mandate.

Regards,

Jim Evoy President

NWT Federation of Labour

Randy Mulder President

NWT Chamber of Commerce Representing Northern Business for over 20 year.



Gabrielle Decorby

1st Vice President

Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce

Dave Talbot

Regional Vice President Union of Northern Workers



Bill Aho President

NWT Construction Association

Dennis Bevington

President

NWT Association of Municipalities



Doug Bryan President

NWT Chamber of Mines

Lob Wells Rob Wells

Vice President C.A.W. Local 2304



Gord Ennis President

NWT Steelworkers Area Council

