TABLED DOCUMENT NO. 67 - 1 3 (3) TABLED ON MAY 2 9 1996

Resolution #08/96

Naming of the new Western Territory

NWT GOVERNMENT LIBRARY

3 1936 00030 572 0

Be It Resolved That after the division of the Northwest Territories the western portion retain the name of the Northwest Territories.

Be It Further Resolved That the communities be requested to support this motion.

Moved by: Willard Hagen

Seconded by: Tom Zubko

All in Favour.

Chief of all Gwich'in Council, Bands + Communities

Mayor of all Municipatities

Inovialuit Regional Corporation

6 Buen Cent Delta Communities + Holman Island

(All in favour attached copy)

MAY 3 0 1996
Yellowknillo, N.W.T.

Beaufort-Delta Leaders' Conference Finto Motor Inn Banquet Room, Inuvik, NWT February 7 & 8, 1996

In Attendance - Day 1

Executive

Bob Simpson - Chairman (Inuvik)

Aklavik

Charles Furlong - Mayor

Richard Tardiff - Director, Aklavik Community Corporation

Eugene Pascal - Chief, Ehdiitat Gwich'in Council

Fort McPherson

Phillip Blake - Mayor

William Koe - Chief, Tetlit Gwich'in Council

Holman Island

Gary Bristow - Mayor

Gibson Kudlak - Director, Holman Community Corporation

Inuvik

Tom Zubko - Mayor

Barry Greenland - Sub-chief, Nihtat Gwich'in Council Frank Hansen - Chairman, Inuvik Community Corporation

Paulatuk

Albert Ruben - Mayor

Fred Bennett - Chairman, Paulatuk Community Corporation

Sachs Harbour

Peter Esau - Mayor

Earl Esau - Chairman, Sachs Harbour Community Corporation

Tsiigehtchic

Grace Blake - Chief, Gwicha Gwich'in Council and Tsiigehtchic

Charter Community Council

James Cardinal - Councillor, Gwicha Gwich'in Council

Tuktoyaktuk

William Nasogaluak - Councillor, Hamlet of Tuktoyaktuk

Lucy Kuptana - Director, Tuktoyaktuk Community Corporation

Gwich'in Tribal

Council

Willard Hagen - President

Larry Firth - Executive Director

Inuvialuit Regional

Corporation

Nellie Coumoyea - Chair

Eddie Dillon - Director

Sahtu

Susan Marie - Community Wellness Coordinator, Fort Good Hope

Pat McKeon - Mental Health Specialist, Fort Good Hope

Beaufort-Delta Leaders' Conference - Finto Banquet Room, Inuvik - Feb. 7-8, 1996

MI.As

Floyd Roland - MLA Inuvik

David Krutko - MLA Mackenzie Delta

Vince Steen - MLA Nunakput

GNWT

Don Morin - Premier, GNWT

Bob Overvold - Deputy Minister, Intergovernmental and

Aboriginal Affairs

Kelvin Ng - Minister, Health and Social Services

Ken Lovely - Deputy Minister, Health and Social Services Drew Lockhart - CEO, Inuvik Regional Health Board Ian Butters - Economic Development and Tourism, Inuvik Bill English - Economic Development and Tourism, Inuvik

Roger Connelly - Regional Director, GNWT

Obscrvers

Pauline Gordon - Director, Beaufort-Delta Div. Board of

Education

Colin Bonnycastle - Reg. Wellness Coordinator, Science Institute

Miki O'Kane - Director, Aurora Campus

Dot Boose - Exec. Director, Canadian Mental Health Association

Media

Glenn Taylor - Inuvik Drum Patricia Saunders - CBC

1. Welcome and Appointment of Chair - Bob Simpson opened the meeting at 9:35 am. Floyd Roland gave the opening prayer. Participants at the table introduced themselves. Bob Simpson stated a chair needed to be appointed. It was agreed a deputy chair was not needed since Bob Simpson would be in attendance for the entire conference.

Moved by Nellie Cournoyea and seconded by William Koe:

That Bob Simpson be appointed chair of the conference.

CARRIED

2. Review and Acceptance of Agenda - It was requested the item New Business be added to the end of the agenda. It was decided resolutions would be made at the end of the conference. The Arctic Rim Law Centre Society was added to the agenda item which discussed the Mackenzie Delta Legal Services Committee.