

## N.W.T. Treaty 8 Tribal Council

Head Office: Salt Plains Reserve #195



September 17,1996

File: 14G-1

Member of Parliament of Parliament Committee
Mrs. Sheila Copps
Department of the Minister of Native Heritage
15 Eddy Street, 12th Floor
Hull, PQ
K1A 0M5

TELECOPIED: (819) 994-5987

Dear Mrs. Copps:

## Rc: 1996 AGA Resolution #: 022-96 - TVNC Aboriginal Program

The NWT Treaty #8 Tribal Council held their Annual General Assembly during the week of July 29 - August 2, 1996 in Lutsel Ke', NT. The delegation had a lengthy discussion concerning communications for the people of the Northwest Territories. As a result of those discussions, the delegation unanimously approved the attached resolution in support of the Native Communications Society in the Northwest Territories.

This resolution is self-explanatory; however, we would like to elaborate on the importance of communications and consultations for our territory. Communicating in today's society is difficult, with the high cost of living and many of our communities being remote. NCS works with programs that involve many multi-cultural aboriginal issues that enhance and promote communication, culture and education, and provides recognition to all northern aboriginal peoples. It is appreciated that this program provides the promotion and understanding of the cultures and traditions of all aboriginal people within the Northwest Territorics. Most importantly NCS programs promote awareness, advising the people of the north with affecting issues such as land claim settlements and environmental impacts.

OCT 1 5 1996

Yellowknife, N.W.T.

Great Slave Lake Office: Fort Resolution, N.W.T. XOE OMO Tel: (403) 394-3313 Fax: (403) 394-3413

.../2

On behalf of all aboriginal people, we are requesting your support in lobbying your government for the transfer of core funding to NCS. We thank you in advance for supporting us with this very important initiative.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Sanderson

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

ce: NWT Treaty #8 Dene First Nations
Minister of Education, Culture, and Employment
Languages Commissioner, Mrs. Judi Tutcho
Executive Assistant, Mrs. Mary O'Neil
Executive Assistant, Susan Scottie, Director General
Chairman, Mr. George Henry, Canadian Heritage
TVNC Board of Directors
Members of the Legislative Assembly

Encl. Resolution #: 022-96



## N.W.T. Treaty 8 Tribal Council

Head Office: Salt Plains Reserve #195

Forth Annual General Assembly

Lutsel K'e, NT

July 29, 1996 - August 1, 1996

RESOLUTION #: 022-96

Re: TVNC - ABORIGINAL PROGRAMMING

Whereas NCS is the only member of TVNC and does not get core funding for aboriginal television production from the Department of Canadian Heritage and Northern Native Broadcasting Access Program, and

Whereas NCS-TV contributes two original Dene Language and Cultural shows each week to TVNC, with very limited financial support: "Dene Weekly Perspective" and "Spirit of Denendeh", and

Whereas TVNC is meant for all Northern Aboriginal peoples, including Dene, Metis, and Inuit,

THEREFORE, by our inherent right to govern, BE IT RESOLVED THAT NWT Treaty 8 Assembly support all NCS's efforts to get core funding for Dene TV production, and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT the delegates to the Treaty 8 Assembly urge the Minister of Canadian Heritage to provide NCS-TV with core funding equal to other members of TVNC, and to sufficiently meet the needs of all the Dene and Metis, and all their languages.

Chiefs Present:

Chief Don Balsillie, Chief Jonas Sangris, Chief Darrell Beaulieu, Chief Felix

Lockhart, Chief Jerry Paulette, Chief Magloire Paulette

Moved By:

Chief Jerry Paulette, Salt River

Seconded By:

Chief Felix Lockhart, Lutsel K'e

.../2

## Vote:

In Favour:

34 Voting delegates

Against:

None

Abstentions: None

Disposition: Carried.