

Government of Northwest Territories

May 10, 2024

JANE WEYALLON ARMSTRONG MLA, MONFWI

Oral Question OQ148-20(1): Healthcare in Small NWT Communities

This letter is in follow up to the Oral Question you raised on February 29, 2024, regarding Healthcare in Small NWT Communities.

Specifically, you asked how many permanent long-term health workers are living in small communities across the NWT.

Excluding Yellowknife and all of Hay River Health and Social Services Authority, the Department can confirm that of the 715 health care workers, 630 of them reside in the smaller communities. The other 85 are job share employees.

NTHSSA/TCSA/HSS Indeterminate Employees by Community and Job Share* (excluding all Yellowknife Staff and all HRHSSA Staff)				
Community	Job Share	Not Job Share	Grand Total	
Aklavik	5	8	13	
Fort McPherson	4	18	22	
Inuvik	20	146	166	
Paulatuk	4	5	9	
Sachs Harbour	3	3	6	
Tsiigehtchic	0	3	3	
Tuktoyaktuk	1	13	14	
Ulukhaktok	2	10	12	
Beaufort Delta Total	39	206	245	
Fort Liard	1	14	15	
Fort Providence	6	13	19	
Fort Simpson	13	53	66	
Jean Marie River	0	2	2	
Kátľodeeche	0	2	2	
Nahanni Butte	0	1	1	
Sambaa k'e	0	2	2	
Wrigley	0	3	3	
Dehcho Total	20	90	110	

6	8	14
6	8	14
0	4	4
5	8	13
2	13	15
7	56	63
3	7	10
17	88	105
2	13	15
0	119	119
0	5	5
2	137	139
0	91	91
0	3	3
0	1	1
1	6	7
1	101	102
85	630	715
	6 0 5 2 7 3 17 2 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1	6 8 0 4 5 8 2 13 7 56 3 7 17 88 2 13 0 119 0 5 2 137 0 91 0 3 0 1 1 6 1 101

*As of December 31, 2023

**These numbers represent NTHSSA staff based in Hay River, not HRHSSA staff.

The 715 employees represent workers from the occupational category that includes Community Social Work, Counselling, Licensed Practical Nurses, Nurse Practitioners, Personal Support Workers, Registered Nurses, and other health professional staff.

Thank you.

. (

Lesa Semmler Minister, Health and Social Services

c. Principal Secretary Deputy Secretary, Premier's Office Clerk of the Legislative Assembly