

Government of Northwest Territories

January 30, 2024

**VIA EMAIL** 

Karen Hamre Alternatives North C/O BOX 444 YELLOWKNIFE NT X1A 2N3 karen@avens.ca

Dear Karen Hamre:

## The Government of the Northwest Territories' views on Public Participation in a Regional Study under Part 5.2 of MVRMA

Thank you for your letter of December 6, 2023, expressing Alternative North's concerns regarding public participation in the development and design of the Regional Strategic Environmental Assessment (RSEA) of the Slave Geological Province (SGP) pursuant to Section 5.2 of the *Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (MVRMA)*. I am responding on behalf of the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT).

Under the MVRMA, regional studies are a federal responsibility, and work on the RSEA in the SGP is being led by Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC). CIRNAC is currently in the pre-study phase of the RSEA which involves engagement with the GNWT, the Government of Nunavut, and Indigenous governments and Indigenous organizations on the terms of reference and potential governance structure for the RSEA. The GNWT is participating actively in this engagement.

The GNWT continues to communicate to CIRNAC that the GNWT expects the RSEA to include opportunities for meaningful Indigenous and public participation, supported by federal participant funding. Similarly, any GNWT positions taken on the development, design, and conduct of the RSEA will be informed by the views of all parties and stakeholders, as well as the GNWT's legal obligations, mandate items and priorities.

The GNWT looks forward to hearing the views and perspectives of the public as the study commences. If you have additional questions about GNWT participation in the RSEA, please contact Nathen Richea, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Assessment and Authorizations, Department, Department of Environment and Climate Change at (867) 767-9234 ext. 53110 or Nathen Richea@gov.nt.ca and/or Lorraine Seale, Director, Impact Assessment and Security Management, at (867) 767-9180 ext. 24020 or Lorraine Seale@gov.nt.ca.

Sincerely,

Jay Macdonald Minister Environment and Climate Change

c: Distribution List

## **Distribution List:**

Honourable R.J. Simpson Premier

Honourable Dan Vandal, P.C., M.P. Minister of Crown and Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs

Honourable Daniel Qavvik Minister of the Environment Government of Nunavut

Grand Chief Jackson Lafferty Tłįchǫ Government

Chief Ernest Betsina Yellowknives Dene First Nation (Dettah)

Chief Fred Sangris Yellowknives Dene First Nation (Ndılǫ)

Chief James Marlowe Łutsël K'é Dene First Nation

Robert Greenley President Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Dr. Joe Dragon Principal Secretary

Kyla Kakfwi-Scott Deputy Secretary Premier's Office

Martin Goldney Secretary to Cabinet/Deputy Minister Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Dr. Erin Kelly Deputy Minister Environment and Climate Change Shawn McCann Deputy Secretary, Indigenous and Intergovernmental Affairs Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Nathen Richea Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Assessment and Authorizations Environment and Climate Change

JoAnne Deneron Chairperson Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board

Majorie Kaviq Kaluraq Chairperson Nunavut Impact Review Board

Donna Ashamock Co-Chair MiningWatch Canada

Elysia Petrone Reitberger Co-Chair MiningWatch Canada

Dawn Tremblay Executive Director Ecology North

Kris Brekke Executive Director Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society NWT Chapter

Lorraine Seale Director, Impact Assessment and Security Management Environment and Climate Change

Adrian Boyd Director, Lands Management Yellowknives Dene First Nation (Ndılǫ)